Merge to master
Once your Branch is reviewed and approved, you’re ready to merge your changes to Master. Merging a Branch makes those designs part of Master. Any Contributor can merge any Branch to Master.
As of version 85.0 of Abstract, you must be online in order to merge to Master.
Tip: If you accidentally merge a Branch to Master, you can restore the Project's Master to a previous Commit.
How to merge a Branch to Master
To merge a Branch:
- Open the Abstract desktop app.
Note: You must be online in order to merge to Master.
- Select the Project that contains the Branch you’d like to merge.
- Select Branches from the left side pane.
- Select the Branch you’d like to merge.
Note: You can merge child Branches into their parent Branch or parent Branches into Master.
- Click MERGE BRANCH in the top right corner.
You may need to update before you can merge. As you update, you’ll be notified if there are any conflicts to resolve.
- Leave a note for your team about what changes you’re merging.
- Click MERGE AND ARCHIVE.
You’ll find a record of your Merge in the Commit History.
Note: Merged Branches are automatically archived and you cannot unarchive them. If you want to keep working on a Branch you’ve just merged, create a new Branch from Master, which will include the changes you just merged. You can also create a new child Branch from a merged one.
I can’t merge. Why?
First, make sure you’re online. Next, if the Merge branch button is disabled when you go to merge (see below), your Org’s admin may have enabled merge restrictions. Before you can merge, you’ll need to request a review and have your branch approved by your project reviewer(s).
What’s the difference between committing and merging?
Committing changes creates a bookmark you can come back to if needed. Committing doesn’t affect Master.
Merging a Branch makes the designs of that Branch part of Master.