Once your branch is reviewed and approved, you’re ready to merge your changes to the main branch. Merging a branch makes those designs part of the main branch. Any Contributor can merge any branch to the main branch.
As of version 85.0 of Abstract, you must be online in order to merge to the main branch.
If you accidentally merge a branch to the main branch, you can restore the project's main branch to a previous commit.
Merge a branch to the main branch
To merge a branch:
- Open the Abstract desktop app
Note: You must be online in order to merge to the main branch.
- Select the project that contains the branch you’d like to merge.
- Select branches from the left side pane.
- Select the branch you’d like to merge.
Note: You can merge child branches into their parent branch or parent branches into the main branch.
- Click Merge Branch... in the top right corner.
You may need to update before you can merge. As you update, Abstract notified you if there are any conflicts to resolve.
- Leave a note for your team about what changes you’re merging.
- Click Merge and archive.
Abstract stores a record of your merge in the commit history.
Merged branches are automatically archived and you cannot unarchive them. If you want to keep working on a branch you’ve just merged, create a new branch from the main branch. This new branch includes the changes you just merged. You can also create a new child branch from a merged one.
What’s the difference between committing and merging?
Committing changes creates a bookmark you can come back to if needed. Committing doesn’t affect the main branch.
Merging a branch makes the designs of that branch part of the main branch.
Why can't I merge?
First, make sure you’re online. Next, if the Merge branch... button is disabled when you go to merge (see below), your organization's admin may have enabled merge restrictions. Before you can merge, request a review and have your branch approved by your project reviewer(s).