Change your subscription

Abstract subscriptions

Abstract offers several plans across two products, Notebooks and Branches. Abstract Notebooks is available in Free, Pro, and Enterprise plans and Abstract Branches is available in Pro and Enterprise plans. See our pricing page to figure out which plan is right for your team or contact sales to discuss a customized plan for Notebooks and Branches combined. 

The amount due for each billing cycle of your organization depends on:

  • Your product(s) and plan
  • The number of contributor seats in your organization

Only an admin in the organization can access the organization settings. Manage admin access.

Change your plan

Admins can make changes to your account’s plan from Organization Settings if you are on a Notebooks Free, Notebooks Pro, Branches Starter, Branches Business, or Branches Pro plan.

To change your plan:

  1. Open the Abstract web app.
  2. In the left side navigation, click on the organization name.
  3. From the dropdown, select Organization Settings.
  4. Select the Billing tab.
  5. Click Change Plan.
  6. Select the payment schedule and desired plan.
  7. Follow the prompts to complete the selection.

If you have a Branches Starter or Business plan, you can upgrade to the new Branches Pro plan in the app or Branches Enterprise by contacting our sales team. After upgrading, you can no longer downgrade to the Starter or Business plans.

If you have an Enterprise plan for Abstract Notebooks or Branches, please contact your Customer Success Manager to make adjustments or click the button Contact Sales to review or adjust plan on the billing page in organization settings.

Enable Notebooks in your Branches organization

If you are an existing Branches customer with a Starter or Business plan and you are looking to add Notebooks to your account, you can start a conversation with our Sales team.

If you are Branches customer with an Enterprise plan, please reach out to your Customer Success Manager to learn about getting access to Abstract Notebooks.

I don't have a billing tab

If your organization has both Notebooks and Branches enabled, you may not see the billing tab on the Organization Settings page. If you are on an Enterprise or hybrid plan, please contact your Customer Success Manager to update your billing information or get copies of your past invoices. If your organization has a Pro plan, please contact support for assistance.

Cancel your subscription

To cancel your subscription:

  1. Open the Abstract app (desktop or web).
  2. In the left side pane, click on the organization name.
  3. From the dropdown, select Organization Settings.
  4. Select the Billing tab.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select Cancel Subscription.
  6. Follow the prompts.

Cancellation Policy: If you cancel mid-cycle, you'll continue to have access to your cancelled plan's features until your next renewal date. Your plan will not renew at the end of the current billing cycle.

If you've opted to cancel your plan, we recommend you export your files.

Add or remove paid contributor seats

Your organization pays for each contributor seat. You can re-assign contributor seats to different team members or guests at anytime. Billing adjustments are only made if you add or remove seats.

To add or remove contributor seats:

  1. Open the Abstract app (desktop or web).
  2. In the left side pane, click on the organization name.
  3. From the dropdown, select Organization Settings.
  4. Select the Billing tab.
  5. Select Remove Seats or Add Seats from the Contributor seats section.
  6. Follow the prompts.

How prorated charges change your invoice

Once you begin an Abstract trial, you can invite contributors to increase the number of seats for your team and the total number of contributor seats added will be charged on the first billing date. If you have an active paid subscription, we’ll immediately issue a prorated charge and corresponding invoice each time you add a contributor seat. 

If you remove a contributor seat, we’ll immediately credit your account for a prorated amount. Next time an invoice is due, we’ll automatically consider the credit then charge the card on file for the remaining balance. Once the prorated amount has been charged, the monthly or annual charges will update to reflect the new number of contributor seats for your organization.

If you are part of an Enterprise plan, there may be a minimum number of contributor seats set for your organization. Contact your account manager to add or remove contributor seats.

For teams who would like to purchase seats in batches to manage spending or an approval processes, contact sales about a custom Enterprise option for your team.