Archive, complete, or delete a notebook

Archive, complete, or delete a notebook

When the work in a notebook is finished or no longer being worked on, you can archive, complete, or delete the entire notebook. This allows you to maintain and track active work while storing finished work.

Any user with a collaborator seat can delete, archive, or complete a notebook. Archiving or completing a notebook changes its status to indicate that the work is done or no longer being worked on. This status can be changed at any time.

Deleting a notebook is a permanent action. A deleted notebook cannot be recovered.

Archive a notebook

Archiving a notebook changes the status of the notebook to “Archived” and moves it from the list of recently active notebooks to the archive. The notebook will also be removed from the left side navigation pane.

For customers on the Free plan, archived notebooks do not count against your plan’s limit.

On the Free plan, any notebooks in the "Archived" or "Done" status are automatically deleted after 30 days. Upgrade your account or move your content to another format if you need to keep it.

  1. In the left side navigation, click Notebooks.
    Notebooks_Home.png
  2. Click the name to open the notebook you want to archive.
    Notebook_Select.png
  3. Click the three dots button in the top right of the page to view the notebook options.
  4. Select Move to Archive.
    Notebook_Archive.png

Complete a notebook

When you have completed the work in a notebook, marking it as done changes the notebook status to “Done” and moves it from the list of recently active notebooks into the “Done” section in Notebooks Home.

  1. Navigate to the notebook that you would like to complete.
  2. Click the three dots button in the top right of the page to view the notebook options.
  3. Select Move to Done.
    Notebook_Complete.png

Delete a notebook

You may find that you want to delete a notebook if you have created one to test an idea, started a new notebook by accident, discovered that you've duplicated existing content, or need to remove sensitive content from Abstract. Any contributor user in Abstract can delete a notebook.

Deleting a notebook is permanent - you cannot recover a deleted notebook.

  1. Navigate to the notebook you want to delete.
  2. Click the three dots button in the top right of the page to view the notebook options.
  3. Select Delete notebook....
    Notebook_Delete.png
  4. Confirm your decision to permanently delete the notebook by clicking Delete Notebook.
    Modal_Delete-Notebook.png

View archived and completed notebooks

Notebooks that have been archived or completed can still be accessed at any time. To move a completed or archived notebook back into the recently active notebooks list, see “Set the status of a notebook.”

  1. In the left side navigation, click Notebooks.
    Notebooks_Home.png
  2. Click Done under the title bar to view completed notebooks.
    Notebooks_Done.png
  3. Click Archived under the title bar to view archived notebooks.
    Notebooks_Archived.png
  4. Click the notebook title to view the contents of the completed or archived notebook.