Abstract Notebooks enables you to create and track context around your team’s design process. With Abstract Notebooks, you can request design reviews, provide actionable feedback, and track decisions.
Abstract Notebooks is a tool for designers to capture and present their work and establish design decisions. Each individual notebook contains a review system that helps you get structured, actionable feedback on your work. You can bring design content directly into a notebook with our Figma and Sketch plugins, and you can add context with the built-in text editor.
Your team can contribute content, comments, and reviews without the need to navigate the design tool. With Abstract Notebooks, you can confidently facilitate design reviews and record the results for further action.
Users on the Free plan may have up to 3 active notebooks at any given time. Pro and Enterprise plans have access to unlimited notebooks.
On the Free plan, any notebooks in the "Archived" or "Done" status are automatically deleted after 30 days. Upgrade your account or move your content to another format if you need to keep it.
Designers, managers, and stakeholders can create and share notebooks to work with each other throughout the design process. Read more about creating a notebook to get started.
Notebooks provide a collaborative way to come to design decisions. Get started quickly with one of the built-in design brief templates, then invite team members to add content and provide feedback on the work as it happens. With the Abstract Notebooks plugins for Figma and Sketch, you can insert frames, artboards, individual elements, and components directly from your design tool to share status updates on your work. You can also add and format text and upload images to add context and track reviews. For more information on adding content to notebooks, see “Add and update content in a notebook.”
Access your organization’s notebooks
Each Abstract organization has an initial project where their notebooks are stored. You can create additional projects to organize your notebooks, and admins of Pro and Enterprise accounts can create sections to further organize their projects.
Notebooks inherit the access level of the project where they are stored.
Notebooks in a public project are available to all users in the organization. Any contributor user in the organization can view, comment on, edit, archive, complete, or delete notebooks in public projects.
Notebooks in a private project are only available to users who have been granted access to the private project. Only contributor members with access to the private project can view, comment on, edit, archive, complete, or delete notebooks in that project.
If you want to share a public notebooks with someone outside your organization, or if you want to share a private notebook with someone outside the project, you can change the sharing settings.
Admins can disable public share links for their organizations. If pubic share links have been disabled for the organization whose notebooks you want to view, you must create an account and request access.