Duplicate a project

At this time, you cannot duplicate a project directly from within Abstract.

The only way that you can duplicate a Branches project or files within Abstract is by exporting existing files and reimporting them into a new project. Once this is complete, we suggest using the Managing Libraries tool to ensure any library files that the project file might use are mapped correctly. 

To manually duplicate a project:

First, export the files you need.

  1. Open the Abstract desktop app.
  2. Navigate to the project that you want to duplicate.
  3. In the left side bar, select Main or the branch that has the version of the files that you want to use for the new project.
  4. In the top right corner, click on the More Options icon to open the more options menu.
  5. Select Export files…

Second, prepare the files.

When you export files from Abstract, the Sketch file names include a branch identifier. This makes you files look something like this: Account Activity (Main @ 5a0433b) or Sign Up (Branch Name @ ebdf392). You can rename these files on your desktop before or after re-importing them to Abstract.

  1. Locate the files you just downloaded in Finder.
  2. Right click to rename each file to remove the identifier (delete everything in parentheses).

Third, create a new project and upload the files.

  1. Follow the instructions to create a new project.
  2. After the new project is created, click Import Files.
  3. In the finder window, select all of the files that you previously exported and renamed.

Finally, if you had linked libraries in the original project, check your libraries to relink symbols.

  1. Follow the instructions to link any libraries that you had linked in the previous project to your new project.
  2. Follow the instructions to manage libraries in order to avoid or fix any broken symbols.

Duplicating projects or files this way doesn't copy any branches, previous commits in the commit history, or collections in your project. Recreate any collections in your new project and you would need to view the previous project to see past commit history.

If you want to move the project from one organization to another, you may want to transfer the project instead. This lets you transfer the project's commit history and branches. Note, however, that this removes the project from your organization and does not leave a copy in the starting organization.